Skip to content
Back to top

Tribal State Collaboration Webinar Series - SUMMER 2021!

July 21, 2021

Please join the Tribal Law and Policy Institute for a 5-Workshop Tribal-State Collaboration Webinar Series! 

The link below registers you for

?all 3 remaining webinars.

  • Webinar 3 | Thursday, August 5, 2021 | Justice Reimagined: Healing Communities and Improving Outcomes through Joint Jurisdiction
  • Webinar 4 | Monday, August 16, 2021 |Tribal-State Court Forums
  • Webinar 5 | Monday, August 30, 2021 |Tribal, State and Local Collaborations for Enforcement of Tribal Protection Orders
  • Webinar 1 | Monday, June 28, 2021 | Crossing the Bridge: Tribal-Local-State Collaboration -This webinar has already been held but PPT and recording are available.
  • Webinar 2 | Friday, July 16, 2021 |Tribal Healing to Wellness Courts: Intergovernmental Collaboration -This webinar has already been held but PPT and recording are available.

Register

 

Questions

For any questions or comments, please contact Chia@TLPI.org.

WEBINAR 3:Justice Reimagined: Healing Communities and

Improving Outcomes through Joint Jurisdiction

 

Thursday, August 5, 2021

12:00pm PT | 1:00pm MT | 2:00pm CT | 3:00pm ET

 

Tribal-State Court Collaborations

 

Tribal, state, federal and local courts operate in a patchwork of overlapping jurisdictions, facing common challenges and limited resources. To address these concerns, a growing number of courts have come together in a joint jurisdictional model that acknowledges each other’s autonomy, while sharing resources for better outcomes for everyone. During this webinar, the authors of TLPI’s soon-to-be released Joint Jurisdiction Courts: Needs Assessment Report will tell the story of these joint jurisdiction courts, share lessons learned, and make recommendations for other jurisdictions considering a collaborative approach to heal their own communities and improve outcomes for the people they serve.

 

Presented by:

?Hon. Korey Wahwassuck, Judge, Itasca County District Court and Consultant, Tribal Law and Policy Institute

Jenny Walter, Partner, Hedger & Water, LLC and Consultant, Tribal Law and Policy Institute

 

WEBINAR 4:Tribal-State Court Forums

 

Monday, August 16, 2021

10:00am PT | 11:00am MT | 12:00pm CT | 1:00pm ET

 

Tribal-State Collaboration Panel

 

Tribal and state courts interact across many issues, including child welfare, enforcement of court orders, and civil commitments. Courts are a key arena for interaction and have great potential for collaboration. Unfortunately, Tribal and state courts can disagree on jurisdictional issues and that can interfere with addressing issues of great importance to both jurisdictions. Difficult historical realities exist in some states that create a wedge that takes hard work to mend; but with collaboration comes the trust building that ultimately increases safety and justice in Indian country. Through tribal-state court forums, judges and court personnel have a venue for gathering together to foster relationships, discuss areas of mutual concern, develop legislative initiatives, and find a common ground. There are 13 known tribal-state court forumsin the United States. This webinar will include a panel of forum members from: California, Michigan, Minnesota and New York, who will discuss the accomplishments and challenges when working in these unique and promising collaborations.

 

Panelists:

Hon. Abby Abinanti, Chief Judge, Yurok Tribal Court

Hon. Carrie Garrow, Chief Judge, Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Court

Hon. Michael Petoskey, Chief Judge, Pokagon Band of Potawatomi

Hon. Korey Wahwassuck, Itasca County District Court Judge

 

Moderator: Hon. Bill Thorne

 

WEBINAR 5: Tribal, State and Local Collaborations for Enforcement of

Tribal Protection Orders

 

Monday, August 30, 2021

11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET

 

Tribal Protection Order Enforcement and Collaboration

 

This webinar will focus on drafting enforceable tribal protection orders. This includes meeting the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) Full Faith and Credit requirements, crafting orders that may provide the basis for criminal actions for violations of a protection order and drafting remedies tailored to meet the needs of victims. It will also include a discussion on some promising practices for state and local enforcement of tribal protection orders.

 

Presented by:

?Kelly Gaines Stoner, Victim Advocacy Legal Specialist, Tribal Law and Policy Institute

 

Back